Acute and Chronic Pain Services

Department of Anaesthesiology and Pain Medicine has a four-fold mandate, encompassing safe, quality patient care, education and research catering to all general and surgical superspecialty services perioperatively, both in all ten OTs & in the surgical critical care.

A team of strong, highly skilled, knowledgeable and fully dedicated consultants covers the entire hospital emergency services 24×7 for the operating room and areas extending outside the OR. Services include acute and chronic pain services, resuscitation, anesthesia in Cath Lab, CT, MRI and endoscopy suites.The team is further sub specialized in cardiac anaesthesia, neuroanaesthesia , obstetrics, paediatrics, thoracic surgery, MIS, laparoscopy and anaesthesia for organ transplantation.

In addition to clinical services, the department is committed to teaching and education and is actively involved in training technicians, anesthesiologists, intensive care specialists, CSSD, infection control and clinical administration of the OT and adjoining areas.

Facilites Available for Pain Management: ‘Acute Pain Services’ for all surgical & non-surgical patients and ‘Chronic Pain Clinics’.

Medica Pain Clinic

Pain is an unpleasant and emotionally disturbing experience in any trauma, medical or surgical condition and if unattended can transform into a chronic pain status causing disability, emotional changes, social disturbances and personality disorders, adversely affecting personal and family life.

Medica’s Pain Clinic constantly strives to make the hospital a total ‘pain free zone’.
Our Pain Services address all pain related issues 24×7 through the first ever ‘acute pain service facility’ across the hospital. The chronic pain conditions are assessed in the Pain Clinic OPD and both diagnostic and therapeutic interventions are done in advance operation theatre under image guided blocks.

Conditions treated:


  • All Cancer Pains
  • Low Back Pain
  • Neck & Cervical Pain
  • Myofacial pain & Fibromyalgias
  • Compression Spine fractures pain- for vertebroplasty
  • Orofacial Pain & Trigeminal Neuralgias
  • Neuropathic Pain & Herpes Zoster
  • CRPS (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome)
  • Post Surgical Incision Pain
  • Peripheral Neuropathies
  • Vascular Pains due to vascular spasm of hands & legs
  • Spinal Cord Stimulation
  • Intrathecal Spinal Pumps
  • Radiofrequency Ablations of Facet joints of Spine
  • Knee joint pains –viscosupplement injections
  • Trigger point injections
  • Central de-sensitization & lidocaine infusion

Painless Labour

Normal childbirth can be a severely painful experience. Our pain services ensure ‘painless labour’ on demand, for any women desiring a pain free delivery.

Treatment Procedure

Advance medications, nerve ablations using Chemical Sympathectomy and Radio Frequency Ablations (RFA) are very helpful in long term relief of pain. Advanced modalities like Spinal Cord Stimulation (SCS) and intrathecal pumps are implanted in patients of refractory chronic pain where other modalities have failed. Cancer pains are controlled through medication, CT/USG and C-Arm guided chemical Neurolysis and RFA with close follow-up for end of life care.

The Medica Pain Clinic is supported by experts in the fields of Rehabilitation, Orthopaedic, Neurosurgery, Neurology, Radiodiagnosis and Dietetics for a holistic approach towards alleviation of pain.


Our Pain Specialists


Dr. Gautam Das

Dr. Amiya Kumar Mishra

Dr. Jaya Choudhary

Patient Controlled Analgesia (PAC) Services

medica-mascart-smallStarted by the Anaesthesiology & Pain Services.

Here the patient can trigger his/her own dosage of pre-filled medications with pre-programmed lockout time by the Pain physician via advance PCA Pumps. The entire 24 hour event is recorded and analysed daily and continous titration is done by trained pain nurses.

This wonderful pain free modality allows the patient to participate in his/her own therapy, which aids in quicker ambulation and healing.



Dr. Amiya Kumar Mishra
Designation: Sr. Consultant
Qualification: MD (Anaesthesiology), FIPM

Dr. Dipanjan Chatterjee
Designation: Sr. Consultant – Cardiac Anaesthetist
Qualification: MD (Anaesthesiology), PDCC (Cardiothoracic &Vascular & Neurosurgical Anaesthesiology), FNB (Cardiac Anaesthesia)

Dr. Arpan Chakraborty
Designation: Sr. Consultant
Qualification: MD (Anaesthesiology), FNB (Cardiac Anaesthesia)

Dr. Jayati Ghosh
Designation: Sr. Consultant – Neuroanaesthesiologist
Qualification: DA, MD, PDCC, Fellow Neuro-Anaesthesia

Dr. Rangan Koley
Designation: Consultant
Qualification: MD (Anaesthesiology), Post Doctoral Fellowship in Cardiac Aneasthesiology

Dr. Jaya Choudhary
Designation: Consultant
Qualification: MD (Anaesthesiology)

Dr. Kasturi Hossain Banerjee
Designation: Consultant
Qualification: DA, DNB, MNAMS (Anaesthesiology)

Dr. Mumtaz Afzal
Designation: Consultant
Qualification: DA, DNB

Dr. Mithilesh Kumar Tiwary
Designation: Associate Consultant
Qualification: DA (Anaesthesiology)

Dr. Subrata Chattopadhyay
Designation: Associate Consultant
Qualification: MBBS, DA

Dr. Pradipta Mitra
Designation: Associate Consultant
Qualification: DA, DNB (Anaesthesia)

Dr. Chandika Banik
Designation: Registrar
Qualification: MD (Anaesthesia)

Dr. Saurav Burman
Designation: Registrar
Qualification: DNB



Dr. Gautam Das
Designation: Consultant
Qualification: MBBS, MD (Anaesthesiology), Fellow of Interventional Pain Practice

Dr. Amiya Kumar Mishra
Designation: Sr. Consultant
Qualification: MD (Anaesthesiology), FIPM

Dr. Jaya Choudhary
Designation: Consultant
Qualification: MD (Anaesthesiology)

  • Get In Touch

    Fill in the form for an instant enquiry